so… quilting?

I’ve loved the idea of quilting for a long time, now. My grandma makes amazing quilts and it looks quite enjotable and relaxing, so I thought I would try it.

I haven’t done much yet – been gathering kit and such, but I think I’m feeling not far off from starting my first proper quilt.

Seeing as proper quilting fabric (cotton) is pretty pricey, I thought I’d buy some cheap and cheerful fabric to give it a try. I know the fabric doesn’t look half bad, but it was pretty cheap.

DSC_5291.NEF-001I started by cutting squares and a couple of triangles. First I sewed the triangles into a pin-wheel shape. Actually, I messed up a bit and had to do some serious seam ripping. But it turned out all right.

DSC_5301.NEFThen I sewed nine squares together to make a bigger square, which I cut up and turned. Fun!

DSC_5297.NEFDSC_5306.NEFNothing amazing, but I enjoyed the work! And I’m looking forward to starting something bigger! Thanks to my wonderful Grandma for the quilting foot for my machine for Christmas – I’ve got all the kit I need to get started now, I think!

-Jamie

I'd love to hear from you!

