thinking about blogging

Hello all!

So I’ve been thinking lots about my blogging lately. I’m absolutely loving blogging, and am so very inspired by all of you who read and comment on my posts. It gives me a reason to get creative and to think about my creativity.

So I was looking at blogging 101, which I know some of my online friends are participating in… I know that I don’t currently have the time to blog everyday (very much wish I did – I love writing), but thought it would be good to go through a few of the activities anyway.

Wales 497The first assignment is to introduce myself. I know that lots of you who are reading my blog already know me, so I won’t focus too much on who I am, but rather, I’m going to have a think about why I’m blogging. (Okay, now that I’ve finished the post and looked back, I have focused a lot on me… oops!)

If you read my ‘about me’ section, you already know a fair bit about me. I’m Canadian but I live in England but I’d rather live in Canada. I’m a primary school teacher (year 6) and I love my job, but a lot of the I’d rather blog and keep my house clean. I’m a perfectionist at work much of the time, but at home, I let things go – I can’t keep up with everything. I like my house to be perfectly clean, but usually don’t clean it till it gets really messy. Unless my mom is coming to visit…

busy busyThe perfectionist things applies to crafting, too. I LOVE crafting – every different type, I think. And I want to be great at it. At everything. But because I can’t focus on one type of crafting, I never get to be really great at any one type. Really, though, I love it all: jewellery making, paper craft & scrapbooking, sewing, craft painting, etc. Fun, fun!

And I live photography. I’ve taken some good pictures, and some great pictures, but again, I don’t spend enough time on it to be consistently great. I’ve even had photoshop put on my old computer, but just can’t take the time to learn how to use it properly.

LATEI guess the key here is time. I don’t have enough of it. And as long as I’m a teacher, I don’t foresee that I will have enough time. Anyone want to pay me to craft? 🙂

Starting this blog was a chance to focus on crafting. I figured that if I was ‘accountable’ to someone, it would be easier to ensure I took the time to do what I love. If I’m really honest, I spend far too much time watching tv when I’ve finished work, and hopefully, to keep my blog up to date, I’ll spend more of that time crafting.

I’m also hoping that blogging will help me get in touch with more creative types. I crave inspiration, and really want to connect with others who are like-minded. So come on then, inspire me! And hopefully I can return the favour! I’ll be working hard towards that!

And please, let me know what you think of my blog, and what you’re up to in your own creative journey. I’m hoping that by the time I’ve blogged for a year, I’ll have so many new friends out there in internet land – and I am so looking forward to getting to know you.

K… so, I think that’s it for tonight. Didn’t really expect that I’d be waffling on for that long. Well done and bonus points for you if you managed to make it all the way through. Thanks for reading!

-Jamie

One thought on “thinking about blogging

  1. I’m not sure how much inspiration I have to send your way, but maybe a bit of encouragement…your photo challenge has been such great fun and I am so grateful for that. It opens my eyes to looking at things a bit differently than I might have before the challenge, I have no doubt that I see more aspects of “things” than I did before, often saying that is cold AND light, new AND small…or finding that rather than one of those it is ______ instead.
    I am amazed by the bloggers who work away from home and still manage to write; don’t be hard on yourself. I am a stay at homer and I haven’t been able to keep up with Blogging 101. You make very regular appearances and quality is more important than quantity anyway.
    This is a nice personal post. I like the picture of yourself and especially the first cartoon–very relatable!! She only needs one arm stirring a pot and the another doing some laundry and I would nab it from you!
    All the best, Melissa

I'd love to hear from you!

