this could be the laziest thing you’ve heard of…

Okay, so I was sewing the other morning and my hair was bothering me. It’s getting really long and I’m between ideas about what to do with it. It was really hot out and long hair is not nice in the heat.

There are two things that one can do in this situation, one reasonable and one ridiculous:

  1. Reasonable – you could walk down one flight of stairs to the bedroom and grab a hair elastic.
  2. Ridiculous – this:

DSC_6728 DSC_6729 DSC_6781

Yup, instead of walking 20 feet, I took ten minutes, 5 inches of elastic and 18 inches of fabric and sewed a scrunchie.

And let me tell you, it made me feel old! See, scrunchies are back in, it seems. I remember when I was a kid and all I wanted was the best scrunchies – I can still tell you that my favourite one was an off white, waffle fabric scrunchie. I loved it.

I don’t feel like I’m old enough to have trends coming around again for another time. But I guess if I’m really honest, it’s not the first time!

-Jamie

2 thoughts on “this could be the laziest thing you’ve heard of…

  1. Oh my for one awful moment I thought you’d done a Maggie Tulliver and taken your dress making scissors to it. Relief…… A pretty on trend scrunchy. What’s worse is seeing young people wearing clothes your mother wore which you would not have been seen dead in!

I'd love to hear from you!

